The Society

The Medico-Legal Society of Queensland Inc. (MLSQ) has approximately 400 members spanning three professions: doctors, solicitors and barristers. Associate members represent professions working in the medico-legal industry including allied health practitioners, nurses, medical administrators, medical defence organisations, medico-legal reporting agencies and tertiary students of medicine and law. This mix of members provides a unique opportunity for practitioners of these disciplines to meet, share knowledge and exchange views on medico-legal issues and to develop an understanding of how those issues affect each profession.

MLSQ was formed in 1952 to further medico-legal knowledge and to promote understanding and rapport between the medical and legal professions. The then Chief Justice of Queensland, The Honourable Justice Macrossan delivered the inaugural address, Medical and Legal Aspects of Drunkenness in relation to drivers of motor vehicles. After a hiatus during the 1970s, MLSQ was re-formed in the 1980’s and has being going from strength to strength since then. During its 60th Anniversary year, the Society agreed to incorporate, adopting a new constitution and introduced Associate Membership.

Past presidents have included a who’s who of Queensland’s legal and medical fraternities. The MLSQ executive rotates biennially through a doctor, barrister, solicitor sequence.

MLSQ is a very active organisation regularly hosting dinner meetings featuring speakers from a variety of professions. Topics covered at dinners address issues and events of current interest and benefit to all practitioners. MLSQ also hosts an annual conference as well as regular educational workshops.

The MLSQ Expert Witness Directory is another valuable membership benefit. Doctors may register to be included in the directory and lawyers may request access to details of experts in particular areas of specialty, via the Secretariat. View the website for further information.

MLSQ full membership is open to registered medical and legal practitioners. Associate membership is open to allied health practitioners, nurses, medical administrators, representatives from medical defence organisations, medico-legal reporting agencies and tertiary students of medicine and law. Annual and three-year membership options are available. For more information about MLSQ, please view the website:


Dr David Pakchung, President

Ms Melinda Zerner, Vice-President

Ms Emmelene Gray, Junior Vice-President

Dr Mark Woodrow, Treasurer

Ms Claire Smith, Secretary

Dr Glenise Berry

Mr Andrew Luchich

Dr Curtis Gray

Dr Simon Journeaux

Mr Damien Atkinson QC

Dr Mellissa Naidoo

Ms Anna-Maria Lofaro